Our Researchers

Multiple Department of Radiation Medicine & Applied Sciences faculty are Research-focused and have labs and personnel within the Center for Precision Radiation Medicine in the Altman Clinical Translational Research Institute and/or the Moores Cancer Center.

Two RMAS Faculty are focused on the development and oversight of cutting-edge National Cooperative Group Clinical Trials

Many clinically-focused faculty also participate in Department Research spearheading their own clinical studies and/or collaborating with our Research Faculty as well as participating in national cooperative group trials.

Joint Appointed Researchers

RMAS faculty includes two Researchers who have secondary appointments in our Department.


Carrie McDonald is a Professor and the Co-Director of the Brain Tumor Neuropsychologic Assessment Clinic and provides neuropsychological evaluations to brain tumor patients. She has published over 60 journal articles and reviews, and holds a Joint Appointments between RMAS and the Department of Psychiatry.


Joseph Califano MD is a Professor Otolaryngologist and the Physician-In-Chief of the Moores Cancer Center. A NIH R-01 funded basic scientist, his research focused on HPV+ Head & Neck Cancers. He has published over 300 journal articles and reviews and holds a Joint Appointment between RMAS and the Department of Surgery.

Research Faculty News

Associate Professor Kevin Moore PhD was awarded a $1.9M NIH R01 Grant entitled Distributed Knowledge-Based Platform for Radiotherapy Plan Quality Control by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Dr. James Murphy was awarded a five-year $2.0M R18 grant from AHRQ to test contour education programs.

Tyler Seibert MD PhD was granted a Secondary Faculty Appointment in the UC San Diego Department of Bioengineering

Todd Atwood PhD and Derek Brown PhD launched a Phase III Randomized Trial evaluating the utility of direct patient care by the Medical Physicist

Assistant Professor Andrew Sharabi MD PhD is a Co-Investigator on a NIH Moonshot U01 Grant in collaboration with investigators from the Moores Cancer Center and the La Jolla Institute for Allergy & Immunology

Sunil Advani MD received a NIH R37 MERIT Award converting his 5-year R01 focused on PAK-CRAF Signaling into a 7-year R37 Grant

Loren Mell MD published a textbook on Clinical Research entitled Principles of Clinical Cancer Research, with co-editors Phuoc Tran, James Yu and Qiang Zhang