• BA Physics/Mathematics | St. Norbert College 1989
  • MS Physics | DePaul University 1991
  • PhD Medical Sciences | Medical College of Ohio, Toledo 1998
  • Post Doctoral Fellowship Stanford University 2000
  • Board Certification American Board of Radiology 2001

Dr. Todd Pawlicki is Professor and Vice-Chair for Medical Physics. He is also the Director of the Division of Medical Physics overseeing all the clinical and research Medical Physicists in the Department.

An internationally-recognized academic Medical Physicist, Dr. Pawlicki serves is the President-elect designee of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM). He previously served on the Board of Directors of the American Society of Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) and is a former Secretary of the AAPM. He has served on numerous ASTRO and AAPM committees and working groups (many as Chair), including the ASTRO Clinical Affairs and Quality Committee, the ASTRO Multi-disciplinary Quality Assurance Sub-Committee, AAPM Task Group 218, Task Group 288, Task Group 302, Task Group 332 and is Chair of the Management of Medical Physics Programs and Departments Committee. In recognition of his long-time contributions, he has been named a Fellow by both organizations (FAAPM 2012 and FASTRO 2016).

An author of over 125 journal articles, reviews and book chapters, Dr. Pawlicki is the Editor of the textbook Quality and Safety in Radiotherapy, the first international textbook focused on quality/safety in the field of radiation oncology, and has edited multiple other textbooks. He is a previous member of journal Editorial Boards and the past Executive Physics Editor for the journal Practical Radiation Oncology. He is the Co-Director of the Systems Engineering & Design (SED) Program within the Center for Precision Radiation Medicine (CPRM) which is focused on re-designing Radiation Oncology, particularly QA approaches and the role of the Medical Physicist.

He serves on numerous Department Committees including the Faculty Merits & Promotions Committee, the Committee on Committees, the Executive Finance Committee, the Faculty Climate & Development Committee, and the RMAS Council, an Advisory Board to the Chair comprised of senior Department Leaders. He has served or is serving on multiple committees within UC San Diego including Chair Search committees, Radiation Safety Committee, the UC San Diego School of Medicine Core Curriculum Committee, and the University Committee on Academic Personnel. He is also involved in resident education and is the Co-Director of the Leadership & Professionalism Course for the Medical and Physics Residents.