Whitehill Recipients

​The UC San Diego Health Sciences Academy of Clinician Scholars (AoCS) is the body of distinguished faculty recognized by their peers for exceptional clinical skills, their commitment to patient care, medical education, and the advancement of new medical knowledge. The Academy creates a legacy of excellent healthcare delivery by fostring the continuous professional development of UC San Diego's clinician scholars.

The Whitehill Charitable Trust was establised in 1995 by Jules Leonard Whitehill to support the Whitefill Prize for Excellence in the teaching of clinical medicine to students, residents and fellows. The recipient is chosen by the Chief Residents of each residency program and given to an Assistant or Associate level faculty member who best exemplifies compassionate bedside manners for learners to emulate, serves as an advocate for trainees, and encourages and facilities clinical, translation or basic science research projects.

Here are the recipients...


​Diana Hylton, MD
​Veronica Shi, MD
​Emergency Medicine
​Jessica Brice Bagby, MD
​Internal Medicine
​Mazen Odish, MD
​Caitlin Mulligan, MD
​Doran Spencer, MD
​Orthopaedic Surgery
​Frank Chiarappa, MD
​Ryan Orosco, MD
​Jingjing Hu, MD
​Branden Engorn, MD
​Radiation Oncology
​Iain MacEwan, MD
​Diagnostic Radiology
​Michael 'Misha' Horowitz, MD, PhD
​Reproductive Medicine
​Jorge L. Alvarado, MD, FACOG
​Shanglei Liu, MD
​Darshan Patel, MD